The Toronto Symphony Orchestra invites you to Canada Mosaic—our national celebration of Canada’s diverse musical landscape and a Canada 150 Signature Project.

Our goal is to celebrate Canada’s rich musical past, present, and future through performance, education, innovation, and collaboration—in every province.

This project comprises three enduring facets:

1. Musical Legacy & Commissions

Throughout 2017, the TSO will present programming dedicated to showcasing the wealth of existing and new Canadian music. We will look back at the invaluable contributions of past composers and leap forward to celebrate the current generation of gifted Canadian artists.

2. Partner Orchestras

In addition to co-presenting our major commissions with orchestras across the country, the TSO has co-commissioned two-minute orchestral works from 40 partner orchestras, hailing from every Canadian province. These “Sesquies” will be premièred by the TSO in Toronto, and by our partner orchestras in their local communities.

3. Website & E-learning

In tandem with our free digital learning platform, this website is intended to highlight our nation’s distinct musical heritage and educate people across Canada, and internationally, through streamed and recorded TSO concerts, listening guides, study guides, and other interactive educational resources.

Sesquicentennial Advisory Council

Canada 150 is an extraordinary opportunity to celebrate Canada’s musical past and present, while helping ensure our next generation of musical Canadians create and flourish. This Advisory Council brings together some of our country’s arts luminaries and greatest advocates of Canadian composition and performance. The TSO salutes these volunteers for their time and efforts in working together with us to explore our rich and growing legacy of Canadian music.

Gage Averill
Erin Benjamin
Walter Boudreau
Katherine Carleton
Brian Cherney
Brian Current
David Gordon Duke
Robin Elliott
Victor Feldbrill
Glenn Hodgins
David Jaeger
Steve Jordan
Elaine Keillor
Sandra Laronde
Véronique Lecroix
Claire Marchand
Don McLean
Gilles Paquin
Costa Pilavachi
Jeffrey Remedios
Laurel Trainor
Larry Weinstein
Daniel Weinzweig